Entering New Lands

Salaam alaykum wa rahmatullah wa barakatuh,

by the grace of Allah I have given the answer to many of my duas. Along the journey of life I have been given a companion to travel with. Words cannot express my emotions which are proving to be a whirlwind of different thoughts and feelings.

Marriage is truly a rahma from Allah and the fruits of Allah’s mercy can be seen in it. When a person gets married many of the verses in the Quran which refer to marriage gain a different understanding. In fact upon marriage and when being married you will feel these verses being played out in your daily life. One such example is the Quranic ayah:

“They (your wives) are your garment and you are a garment for them.” (Surah Al Baqarah, Chapter 2 Verse 187)

Everyone will have their own understanding of this verse. Before marriage I didnt think much of the verse. Probably because I didnt fully understand it. I thought that by being a garment for one another you would shield one another, and just help one another along the path. In fact I probably had a good understanding of the verse. That by being a garment for one another you could protect one another from the cold harsh realities that is life. That you can provide warmth for one another when nothing else gives warmth. That that person can be your sanctuary when everyone else is against you.

Being able to understand something in context and then applying it to the everyday life situation before you are two entirely different things. When you are able to fully apply something it takes on an even more important meaning. Something that will stick with you for the rest of your life.

See when it comes to knowledge it doesnt matter how much you know. It doesnt matter how much knowledge, what kind of knowledge and what weight that knowledge has. Knowledge only becomes of importance, worth and of weight when it reaches the heart. When it is applied. Only then will one taste the sweetness of that knowledge.

A friend once said it was incredibly important to get married. She used to apply a great emphasis on it, and at times I wondered what on earth she was on. Only when I got married did I realise what she meant. When you look back on the Quranic verse below it comes to light….

…. As a singleton you are alone.Alone in the big wide world. No one is there to shield you from the harsh realities. From the pelting rain, from the cold biting wind and the coldness that are trials and tribulations….

…But as a married person you have another person to shield your back. Ok the world may be out to get you but you have some warmth. Your back is warm and you feel you can take on the world. You have someone with you who will help advise you. There is no more phone a friend. You have a guide right beside you. And that companion is willing to help you fight your trials and tribulations with you. There is no need to be alone anymore.

Out of those two situations I know which one I would rather be in.

I wish I could really make the shukr I should be making to Allah for giving me my spouse. Everytime I look at my spouse they prove to be the coolness of my eyes. Everything that I wanted in a spouse I find in my mine.

Allah has truly answered my duas. It has taken a while but it was all worth the wait.

Fiamanillah

2 Responses to “Entering New Lands”

  1. Wa alaykum as salaam wa Rahmat Allah wa Barakatuh.

    Truly nothing brings us closer to Allah and raises our level of faith and practice than marriage…the beauty and the trial of it. It truly is a completion of our religion. After 36 years of single life, I was finally blessed with a husband and I have found that nothing reaches one to those higher levels of deen more than wanting Allah’s Pleasure and Jennah al Firdous for someone other than yourself and striving to get them there.

    I’m thrilled for you, my sister. May Allah Bless your union generously and give you both the ultimate success in this life and the next. Al hamdu l’Illahi Rabb il aal Ameen!

Leave a Reply

